Out of the House Round-Up: Blowing Up a Paint Bomb, Picturing the Bad Stuff & Getting Drunk Toddler-Style

Slide-Audrey

All this staying-at-home has made me a little stir crazy. Let’s take a look around the internets, shall we?

This is Pretty Much My Worst Nightmare

If anyone is an “artist” in my family, it’s me.  Which makes the fact that my wife is the one that encourages our 2-year-old to participate in almost all our artistic activities all the more ironic.  This is especially true of painting.  I find it just too darn messy.

Painting with Toddlers” takes this messiness, however, to a whole new level.  Imagine, if you will, putting paper on the floor, handing your toddler a full rainbow of paint colors, and just letting him go nuts.  No hand holding.  No constraints.  All artistic freedom.

Terrifying.

But also quite admirable.  I must admit I wish I was more open minded about such things.  I am, after all, someone that believes in giving children freedom to explore life on their own.  I’m no helicopter parent.  But when it comes to messes…well, I just can’t help myself.  I must intervene.  It’s in my nature.  Perhaps though, I should take this post’s example as inspiration to do the same for Audrey.  Maybe, just maybe, I should bite down and bear it.  She’ll have a blast, I’m sure.  It’ll be hard for me to put aside my anal retentive nature toward messes, but what’s the worst that could happen?

Right?

[Fun at Home with Kids]

Precious Memories

One half of the internet is cats.  And the other is baby pictures.  You’ve seen them.  They’re all absolutely precious, right?  All the kids are smiling.  The parents look happy.  Hell, even the homes they’re in are clean.  Everything just looks perfect.

But that’s not reality, is it?  “When Toddlers Think They Can Do Everything” explores the less presentable side of raising children and our need, as parents, to project our lives as being substantially more picturesque than they really are.  I’m guilty of this too.  Do you see many pictures of Audrey on this site with soggy bottoms?  Or snot running down her nose?**  The truth is, raising kids is messy.  But are those memories any less precious than the smiley stuff?  Food for thought.

[Babble/Toddler]

So Like Us

What you’ll find in “26 Reasons Kids Are Pretty Much Just Tiny Drunk Adults” is pretty much exactly what you’d expect from a title like that.  Which leaves me in the unenviable position of having little else to say about it.  Enjoy!

[Buzzfeed]

**If you look closely, you can actually see some of the beautiful green stuff in the above photograph.  Aren’t you glad I pointed this out?

Leave a Reply

