Out of the House Round-Up: The Job of Being a Dad, Toddler Distraction Tactics & Other Parents Are Horrible, Aren’t They?

Beach-Audrey

All this staying-at-home has made me a little stir crazy. Let’s take a look around the internets, shall we?

Staying At-Home Is a Job, Thank You Very Much!  Now, Could I Borrow a Few Bucks Please?

The decision to go from behind the cubicle to behind the kitchen counter was not an easy one for me to make.  Sure, there was the financial aspect to quitting my job of nine years, but there was also the question of whether I could handle my newfound responsibilities.  Would I be strong enough to ensure my daughter washed her hands after every meal?  Could I manage even half as well as her daycare in regards to educational activities?  And what about the TV?  Did I have the willpower to turn the damn thing off and keep my ass from congealing into some giant fat pancake?

Adrian Kulp’s article “My Accountant Told Me to Get a Job” details his transition from a similar sentence behind bars in the modern day workplace to one as a stay-at-home father, and I find it very easy to relate to–at least until the book deal part.  The truth about being at home is that it is a full time job.  It’s exhausting.  It pulls you in a million different directions.  There are always projects.  In other words, it’s like spinning plates.

And I don’t know how to spin plates.

But there are still those pesky financials to deal with.  I’m not getting paid to watch Audrey after all, although I often feel like I should.  As stated in this piece, “it’s easy to undervalue ourselves” while at home.  I can relate.  I often feel an invisible need pressing down from on high to contribute.  As if watching our pride and joy all day isn’t enough.  Thankfully I have an amazing wife who not only appreciates my efforts, but has supported me each and every step of the way.  So thanks, honey!  When I finally get that book deal I’ll be sure to put in a good word for ya.

[Dad Or Alive]

We Can’t Put Them in Cages So We Distract Them Instead

Being around children all day necessitates a few moments of peace from time to time.  I mean, they’re nuts.  And the more time I spend with the little monsters the more nuts I get too.  “40 Ways to Distract a Toddler” is a handy list for people like me who need to find ways to keep their kids occupied while they get a much-needed respite or tackle another responsibility around the house.

They’re certainly better than turning on the old boob tube at least.

[Simple Little Home]

At Least I’m Not as Bad as Those Parents

It’s so easy to judge other parents.  Hell, I can’t go to the grocery store or playground without silently judging the other caregivers around me.  Oh yeah, keep on texting on your fancy phone.  That’s nice.  Forget the fact your little brat is breaking open that bag of uncooked egg noodles.  Just keep texting.  Congratulations.  NICE work.  Okay, I’m not quite that bad (maybe), but it’s definitely true that while parents often collaborate on child-rearing advice, they just as frequently turn their noses up at one another.

The Hater’s Guide to Other Parents” is a hilariously profane look at our judgmental nature toward the other moms and dads around us.  And you’ll recognize the types of parents mentioned too, such as those that go completely bonkers providing their children endless legs up in life, the constant worriers, and, of course, the ones that feel a need to question every single aspect of your child rearing.

A good friend of mine has a quote:  “I’m not a judge, but I judge.”  Me too, pal.

Me too.

[Deadspin]

Leave a Reply

