Silence is Terrifying!

DSC_0111

So there I was, doing the dishes dutifully in the kitchen, when it hit me:  MY KID ISN’T MAKING ANY NOISE.

Those of you without children will not understand the terror this normally welcome occurrence can induce in a parent.  You see, when a child is silent…it’s probably DEAD.  That’s because kids are never quiet.  Especially mine.  Her mouth runs at a speed Usain Bolt would envy.  And her volume puts Pantera to shame.  I never worry about where she is or what she’s doing because I always know where she is and what she’s doing.  That’s because I can hear her.

All the time.

Wherever I am.

No matter what.

So this time–suds on my hands and fear in my throat–I darted away from the kitchen sink to locate my dear 2-year-old and ascertain her situation.  I quickly swung my head around the door frame and looked into the living room.  And there she was.

Reading a book.  Just reading a book.

I was suddenly stopped dead in my tracks by a toddler doing the last thing in the world I expected her to.  I mean, she loves books.  I read to her all the time.  It’s one of our favorite things to do.  But her alone?  Without provocation?  Surrounded by toys that beep and whizz and fizzzzblop-a-dop?  As a wise man once said:  “Inconceivable.”

But golden nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

